Protecting Employers Since 1985

Salaries of Union Leaders

Research by Dick Wessels and Legal Assistant Lisa Narug

Tag days are unnecessary for union leaders today. Here is a smattering of union leader salaries from around the Midwest. We include also some salaries for heads of international unions.

Union Official and TitleUnionTotal Disbursements (Salary + Allowances)
Terence O’Sullivan, General PresidentLaborers National Headquarters$663,981
Patrick Flynn, Secretary-Treasurer (Out of office now – local is under trusteeship)Teamsters Local 710, Mokena, IL$503,435
Newton B Jones, PresidentInternational Brotherhood of Boilermakers$491,866
Joseph Senese, Executive DirectorNational Production Workers Union Ind National Headquarters$487,733
Michael Sweeney, PresidentTeamsters Local 710, Mokena, IL$387,349
James Hoffa, PresidentInternational Brotherhood of Teamsters$381,403
Frank Libby, President/Exec Secy TreasChicago Regional Council of Carpenters$319,462
Steven Cisco, Rec Corres SecretaryOperating Engineers Local 150, Countryside, IL$300,047
Jeffrey Isaacson, 1 st Vice-PresidentChicago Regional Council of Carpenters279,052
James Buchanan, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 597, Chicago, IL$276,175
John Coli, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 727, Park Ridge, IL and Teamsters Joint Council 25, Chicago IL$269,043
James Sweeney, President-Business ManagerOperating Engineers Local 150, Countryside, IL$266,078
Terrence Hancock, PresidentTeamsters Local 731, Burr Ridge, IL$256,801
Charles Anderson, Secretary-TreasurerPainters District Council 30, Aurora, IL$254,499
Rocco Terranova, President/Bus MgrSheet Metal Workers Local 73, Hillside, IL$227,996
Thomas Balanoff, PresidentSEIU Local 1, Chicago, IL$226,968
Ronald Powell, PresidentUFCW Local 881, Rosemont, IL$225,288
Terrence Fitzmaurice, Secretary-TreasurerPainters District Council 14, Chicago, IL$223,978
James Coyne, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 130, Chicago, IL$214,343
Karen Lewis, PresidentChicago Teachers Union, Chicago, IL$201,047
Leo Carroll, Recording SecretaryTeamsters Local 916, Springfield, IL$199,900
R. Magler, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 455, St. Paul, MN$182,311
Robert Pierson, Business ManagerIBEW Local 9, Hillside, IL$176,119
Kenneth Boyd, PresidentUFCW 1546, Chicago, IL$174,828
Terry Allen, Bus Mgr/Fin SecIBEW Local 134, Chicago, IL$169,756
Samuel Cicinelli, Business RepresentativeAuto Mechanics Local 701$148,744
Mark Spano, PresidentCentral States Joint Board$159,293
Donnie Von Moore, President(Now voted out of office)Teamsters Local 743, Chicago, IL$157,202
Juan Campos, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 705, Chicago, IL$156,462
Shawn Daly, Business RepresentativeIBEW Local 160, Minneapolis, MN$155,993
Paul Wright, President/Business Mgr/Fin SecIBEW Local 21, Downers Grove, IL$155,841
Charles Hughart, Financial SecretaryIBEW Local 702, West Frankfort, IL$154,165
Thomas McTavish, Business Mgr/Fin SecIBEW Local 117, Crystal Lake, IL$150,388
Thomas Flynn, PresidentTeamsters Local 179, Joliet, IL$149,163
Armando Arreola, Business RepresentativeAuto Mechanics Local 701$142,558
Terry Nelson, Business Mgr/Sec TreasPainters District Council 82, Little Canada, MN$142,335
Scott Deitz, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 101, Belleville, IL$140,338
Rick Eilers, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 15, Minneapolis, MN$139,572
Kevin Lamere, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 601, Milwaukee, WI$139,066
Michael Haffner, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 301, Waukegan, IL$139,014
Dominic Romanazzi, PresidentTeamsters Local 330, Elgin, IL$137,152
Martin Lawrence, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 638, Minneapolis, MN$131,013
Richard Oakes, Business Mgr/Fin SecIBEW Local 949, Burnsville, MN$129,936
Paul Hawkins, President/Bus AgentTeamsters Local 673, West Chicago, IL$128,077
David Reardon, Sec/Treas/Business AgentTeamsters Local 662, Mosinee, WI$125,904
Paul Stripling, PresidentTeamsters Local 781, Elmhurst, IL$124,987
Thomas McCune, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 25, Rock Island, IL$124,940
Steven Brietlow, Fin Sec/Business ManagerPlumbers Local 75, Milwaukee, WI$121,873
Gene Gowey, Recording SecretaryTeamsters Local 695, Madison, WI$121,735
Joe Jazdzewski, BMSTPainters District Council 7, Big Bend, WI$121,074
Dale Magruder, Business ManagerIBEW Local 176, Joliet, IL$120,051
John Kripotos, Business RepresentativeIBEW Local 292, Minneapolis, MN$119,919
Jamie McNamara, Business Mgr/Fin SecIBEW Local 110, St. Paul, MN$119,787
Bryan Rademacher, Business AgentTeamsters Local 120, Blaine, MN$118,294
Michael Brookes, Business Manager/Fin SecrIBEW Local 55, Des Moines, IA$118,002
Patrick Tapa, Secretary/TreasurerTeamsters Local 344, West Allis, WI$117,656
Jeffrey Knaus,Fin Secretary/Bus MgrPlumbers Local 400, Kaukauna, WI$117,415
Thomas Tweet, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 974, Minneapolis, MN$112,976
Patrick Radzak, Secretary-TreasurerTeamsters Local 346, Duluth, MN$112,850
Gary Menzel, President/Bus MgrRoofers Local 11, Westchester, IL$112,475
Robert Miller, Secretary TreasurerGCIU District Council 4, Carol Stream, IL$112,170
Michael Toner, Business ManagerPlumbers Local 553, East Alton, IL$109,941
Andrew Roberts, Business Mgr/Fin SecPlumbers Local 33, Des Moines, IA$109,761
Peter Jaworski, Business ManagerRoofers Local 96, Blaines, MN$102,015
Ildefonzo Lozano, Vice President/Field RepLaborers Local Union 152, Highland Park, IL$100,275

These are good jobs! It is hardly surprising that unions are a hotbed of political activity geared toward perpetuating the power and position of these union leaders.

Contact us at any of our four Midwest locations

The Midwest's Premier Labor and Employment Law Firm


Schedule your confidential consultation

Contact Wessels Sherman if you would like to speak with one of our experienced labor and workplace attorneys, contact any of our four office locations and schedule a consultation.